Skip to Content

Mechanical Engineering


Academic Faculty

khan-jamil Dr. Jamil Khan
Professor and Chair
khan@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.1578
Experimental and Computational Thermo-fluids, single and two phase
banerjee Dr. Sourav Banerjee
Assistant Professor
banerjes@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.4596
baxter Dr. Sarah Baxter
Professor
baxter@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.0239
Micromechanics, Probabilistic mechanics, Mathematical modeling
bayoumi-abdel Dr. Abdel Bayoumi
Professor, Director of Biomedical Engineering
bayoumi@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.1845
Smart Predictive Systems, CBM, Design, Advanced Manufacturing and Biomechanics
Dan-Cacuci Dr. Dan Gabriel Cacuci
Professor and Endowed chair
cacuci@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.5316
chao-yuh Dr. Yuh J. Chao
Professor and Endowed chair
chao@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.5869
Solid mechanics, integrity of structures, DIC
chen-frank Dr. Fanglin (Frank) Chen
Associate Professor
chenfa@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.4875
deng-xiaomin Dr. Xiaomin Deng
Professor
deng@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.7144
Solid mechanics, FEM, biomechanics, modeling/simulation
farouk-tanvir Dr. Tanvir I. Farouk
Assistant Professor
farouk@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.3380
Plasma, Energy, Reacting Thermo-fluids, Combustion
giurgiutiu-victor Dr. Victor Giurgiutiu (Jurjutzu)
Professor
victorg@sc.edu, 803.777.8018
Zafer Gürdal Dr. Zafer Gürdal
Professor, Ronald E. McNair Endowed Chair Holder
gurdal@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.1910
Huang_Kevin1 Dr. Kevin Huang
Associate Professor
huang46@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.0204
Batteries, Fuel Cells and Separation membranes
Huang_Xinya1 Dr. Xinyu Huang
Assistant Professor
huangxin@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.6834
kaoumi Dr. Djamel Kaoumi
Assistant Professor
kaoumi@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.0926
addis Dr. Addis Kidane
Assistant Professor
kidanea@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.2502
Fracture, shock & Impact Mechanics, Multifunctional material
knight-travis Dr. Travis W. Knight
Associate Professor, Director of Nuclear Engineering Graduate Program
twknight@sc.edu, 803.777.1465
Nuclear Fuels, Safeguards, Space Nuclear Power, Simulation
chenli1 Dr. Chen Li
Assistant Professor
li01@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.7155
Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics, and Thermal Management
lyons-jed Dr. Jed Lyons
Professor
lyons@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.9552
Educational Research and Methods, Engineering Materials
Majumdar Dr. Prasun K. Majumdar
Assistant Professor
prasun@sc.edu, 803.777.0183
Composite, Manufacturing, Multi-functionality, Multi-physics
McCants_Dale Dr. Dale McCants
Instructor
mccants@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.2252
mcneill-steve Dr. Stephen McNeill
Associate Professor
mcneill@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.3407
peters10 Dr. Wally Peters
Professor
peters@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.4327
reifsnider-ken Dr. Kenneth Reifsnider
Professor
reifsnid@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.0084
reynol12 Dr. Tony Reynolds
Professor
reynolds@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.9548
rocheleau-david Dr. David Rocheleau
Associate Professor and Graduate Director
rocheleau@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.9395
Kinematics, Dynamics and Computer Aided Design
Tarbutton Dr. Joshua Tarbutton
Assistant Professor
jat@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.8236
shazly Dr. Tarek Shazly
Assistant Professor
shazly@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.4678
sutton1 Dr. Michael Sutton
Carolina Distinguished Professor
sutton@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.7158
2D, 3D and Volume Image Correlation; Fracture; Bio-mechanics
vantooren Dr. Michael Van Tooren
Professor Aerospace Systems Design and Structures
vantooren@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.6527
Aerospace Materials and Safety Critical Structures
wang-guiren Dr. Guiren Wang
Assosiate Professor
wanggu@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.8013
xue-chris Dr. Xingjian (Chris) Xue
Assistant Professor
xue@cec.sc.edu, 803.576.5598
Yu_Lingyu Dr. Lingyu Yu
Assistant Professor
yu3@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.0070
Structural health monitoring, signal processing, vibration
Back to top

Emeritus Faculty

moreho9 Dr. Jeff Morehouse
Professor Emeritus
more@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.3017
ranson11 Dr. Bill Ranson
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
ranson@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.7053
rhodes13 Dr. Curtis Rhodes
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
rhodes@cec.sc.edu, 803.777.9136
Computer Aided Design, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Finite Element Analysis
Back to top

Adjunct/Research Faculty

no-image Dr. Thad Adams
Adjunct Professor
adams@srnl.doe.gov
no-image Dr. Madalina Badea
Research Assistant Professor
Predictive modeling, Sensitivity analysis and Uncertainty Quantification
bischoff-jeff Dr. Jeff Bischoff
Adjunct Professor
jeff.bischoff@zimmer.com
574.371.8394
buckner-mel Dr. Mel Buckner
Adjunct Professor
mel.buckner@srs.gov
803.442.6373
buckner-mel Dr. Xu Cheng
Adjunct Professor
xu.cheng@kit.edu
dorning Dr. John Dorning
Whitney Stone Professor of Nuclear Engineering, University of Virginia
dorning@virginia.edu
gorensek-max Dr. Max Gorensek
Adjunct Professor
maximilian.gorensek@srnl.doe.gov
803.725.1314
no-image Dr. Joshua Gray
Savannah River National Laboratory
joshua.gray@srs.gov
803.725.8272
no-image Dr. L Larry Hamm
Savannah River National Laboratory
luther.hamm@srnl.doe.gov
loiselle-val Val Loiselle
Adjunct Professor
loiselle@cec.sc.edu
803.666.5598
norrell Dr. Jeff Norrell
Adjunct Professor
Westinghouse
Director Product Engineering
norrelj@westinghouse.com
pain Dr. Christopher C. Pain
Professor, Earth Sciences & Engineering, Imperial College
c.pain@ic.ac.uk
803.777.4875
robert1 Dr. Elwyn Roberts
Visiting Professor
robertse@cec.sc.edu
803.777.2252
summer2 Dr. Bill Summers
Adjunct Professor
william.summers@srs.gov
803.725.7766
no-image Dr. Wei Tang
Research Assistant Professor
tang@cec.sc.edu
803.777.0753
Adrian_Torres_th Dr. Adrian E. Mendez Torres
Savannah River National Laboratory
Adrian.Mendez-Torres@srnl.doe.gov
tulenko-james Prof. James Tulenko
Adjunct Professor
tulenko@ufl.edu
352.392.1401, x314
no-image Dr. Jianzheng Zuo
Research Professor
zuo@cec.sc.edu
803.777.8646
Back to top

Support Staff

jenkins-renee Renee Jenkins
Student Service Administrative Assistant
jenkinsr@cec.sc.edu
803.777.9549
300 Main, A229
misty Misty O'Donnell
Administrative Assistant
odonnemc@cec.sc.edu
803.777.3082
300 Main, A224
no-image Lalitha Ravi
Administrative Assistant
ravilali@cec.sc.edu
803.777.4185
300 Main, A224
severt-glenn Glenn Severt
IT Manager
severt@cec.sc.edu
803.777.6646
300 Main, A115
westbury_th David Westbury
Lab Engineer
westbuda@cec.sc.edu
803.777.1452
300 Main, A114
wilhelm-dan Dan Wilhelm
Associate Engineer I
wilhelm@cec.sc.edu
803.777.1595
300 Main, C008
bradley-bill Bill Bradley
Associate Engineer II
billb@cec.sc.edu
803.777.5616, Fax: 803.777.6208
300 Sumter Street
ward-burt Burt Ward
Associate Engineer II
wardb@cec.sc.edu
803.777.6733, Fax: 803.777.6208
300 Sumter Street
Back to top
© 2012 University of South Carolina Board of Trustees Privacy Policy